“Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church)

A Sacrament is a rite or ceremony instituted by Jesus, and observed by the Church as a visible sign of grace.

These seven Sacraments point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians, and they are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence.